CHESTER — Craig Gauthier has won a three-year term on the Board of Selectmen, beating incumbent Brian Forgue in the town election May 4. Gauthier received 82 votes, Forgue received 60, and one ballot was blank.

The race was a rematch of the 2023 special election, where Forgue won 73 votes and Gauthier won 55. Gauthier could not be reached for comment on his win.

Craig Gauthier has won a three-year term on the Chester Board of Selectmen.
Reminder Publishing submitted photo

A total of 143 votes were cast, 15% of the town’s 926 registered voters.

In the other races, Adam Bryant took the one-year moderator seat being vacated by Barbara Pease Huntoon with 13 votes to her 7. James Zimmerman also won the three-year water commissioner term to replace Donald Bean with 27 votes, while Nick Chiusano was reelected to a two-year term with 23.

Electric Light Commissioner Deryck Savoy was the top vote-getter, being reelected to his three-year seat with 130 votes. This was followed by Jeanna Briggs, who was reelected to her three-year School Committee seat with 122 votes, and Duane Pease, who was reelected to her three-year Board of Health position with 118 votes.

Incumbent Linda Koske and newcomer Chelsea Girton won two three-year library trustee positions with 107 and 99 votes, respectively.

tlederer@thereminder.com | + posts