HUNTINGTON — Ninety-eight registered voters out of a total of 1,700 participated in the municipal election on May 11, with a close race for the three-year open seat on the Selectboard, formerly occupied by Edward Renaud.

In unofficial results, former Selectboard member John McVeigh received 47 votes. Anthony Loughran polled 42 in his first bid for elected office.

On the ballot question of whether the town shall have its elected town clerk become an appointed position, 52 voters said yes and 37 said no. Michelle Fieldstad-Booth was also elected for three years as the town clerk, a position for which she was running unopposed.

Fieldstad-Booth, who has been serving as the interim town clerk since the retirement of Linda Hamlin, said the elected position will now end on June 30, once the election is certified. She said she plans to apply for the position, after having just completed all of the required training.

There were no other contested races. George Peterson was elected for the Board of Health for a term of three years and as moderator for one year; Chrstine Stochlinski was elected to the Board of Assessors for a term of three years; H. Daniel Oliveira as water and sewer commissioner for three years; and Charles Dazelle as constable for three years.

Also elected were Lisa Goding to the Gateway Regional School Committee for three years; and Karen Wittshirk as a trustee of the Alphonso Pettis Fund and as a trustee of the library, both for three-year terms.

One other position had no candidates on the ballot and will have to be filled by appointment. None of the write-in candidates for the two-year seat on the School Committee accepted the position, according to Fieldstad-Booth.

amyporter@thewestfieldnews.com | + posts